Making Your House a Home

Blog

Hello Lovelies,

So, it’s no secret that i’ve recently moved. We’ve been living here for 2 weeks now and everybody that has come to visit has asked the same question – “how have you got it feeling homely so quickly?!”. So, in response to that, i’ve written this post!

  1. Completely unpack your bedroom first!

    Okay, so some people completely disagree with this one, but if your worried about settling into your home I 100% recommend doing this first, especially if it’s your first home! Whether you’ve come from living with your parents or university, most of us have spent our whole lives living in one bedroom and having one room to completely express ourselves. Therefore, in your new house it’s so important that you carry on having this one room that feels like home, it’s so weird going from a bedroom that completely reflects who you are to a blank canvas with no personality in it. I also think it’s important to get your clothes unpacked! You’re never going to feel at home whilst you’re living out of a suitcase! Finally, whilst i’m all for a mattress on the floor, if your bed requires assembly, do it! Get that room feeling cosy!

  2. Put your pictures up

    Get those family pictures up! Scatter them throughout the house, it’s this little touch that tells people who exactly lives there. While having all new stuff is lovely, the family photos really help make the place feel like your home, and not a show home.

  3. Get your first food shop done early

    As much as living off of  takeaways is great, get your first food shop done and start cooking your own meals. Food shopping when you’ve moved out is so much fun, i promise. You can buy whatever you want to! Feel free to fill those cupboards with snacks and home comforts, you’re going to need them! For the first week or so having meals that are quick and easy to cook are your friend, you’ll be busy and tired all the time, trust me.

  4. Have people round

    As soon as you are somewhat settled invite people round to see the place. Get your friends and family round and start making memories in your new home. Playing host in a place you worked so hard to get is amazing, and only slightly stressful (ban the red wine!).

  5. Soft Furnishings are your friend

    Real talk now, don’t let anyone tell you that you’re buying too many cushions! Things like cushions, rugs and blankets all help make a house feel super cosy and homely, so go nuts!

  6. Go for a walk

    If your completely new to the area like i was, go for a walk and get to know your surroundings. Figure out where your local amenities are, you know, the important places; the nearest shop, best local takeaway, and your local pub! Finding these places early will help you get settled into your new area, so do it early. Try not to get stressed if you get lost, its all part of the exploring experience!

  7. Get your internet sorted

    Getting internet can sometimes take weeks to get sorted, so get on it early! It’s hard to feel at home when you can’t check Facebook, FaceTime your friends or read my blog (hehe).

  8. Finally, just get unpacked!

    It’ll be tiring but honestly just get cracked on! It’ll be so worth it in the end! Just get unpacked, take your boxes to the local recycling centre and just have everything in it’s place! You can always spend time reorganising things at a later date, just focus on getting it unpacked in a somewhat organised manner to begin with so you can start living somewhat normally.

 

So thats it folks, my top tips for getting settled in early! I personally did all of these things when i moved and found they helped me a tonne! Do you have any tips on settling in? I’d love to hear them! To see my home and how I got it feeling homely be sure to check back tomorrow at 6pm, i’ll be uploading my house tour video!

Until then,

Laura xoxo

 

One thought on “Making Your House a Home

  1. Hey Laura, this is such great advice! I own my own home, but I bought it off my dad and so haven’t really moved out (apart from living in a dorm at uni) and I cannot wait to have my own fresh place one day where I can put my own personal style on every little thing. But in my house now, I make my bedroom exactly how I want it. I updated so much furniture since I lived there as a teen and it’s been a big help. Also, photos and prints have made a huge difference in making my teenage bedroom feel fresh for adult me! 🙂 Enjoy your new place xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment